My Summer

Every single day, I can feel summer getting closer and closer… I can pretty much taste it.  It’s impossible to give a damn about school when it’s sunny and beautiful outside – finally, I understand what people talk about when they mention spring fever.  (I used to be a homeschooled kid – weird, I know.  It never really mattered to us what time of the year it was, because we just did three or four days a week year-round.)  Inside our dingy old school, it’s musty and stuffy and boring… gym class isn’t too bad, we play soccer and tag and sometimes it’s so hot that we just stand around and through footballs, but English and History?  Yucky, I’m pretty sure my mark has gone done in both since midterms.  And Drama is just deadly boring.  I fell asleep in class yesterday, and our teacher is such a softie that he just left me lying on the floor until the bell rang and I had to run to work.  Anyway, what all that longwinded meandering was leading up to is this – a list of things that represents what my summer is going to look like.  I’m excited, although I doubt anyone else is much interested.

  • Work work working.  I’ve got a job at an insurance broker’s, where I sit inside and file stuff and scan stuff and answer phones and deliver stuff to desks and fill up paper trays and make sure that stuff balances… boring, but good money, and I’ll be doing it for 28 to 35 hours a week this summer.  But I get paid lunches, which is awesome, and there is this gorgeous little lunch cafe/buffet thing across the road where they sell delicious vegetarian sandwiches and salads… mouth waters. 
  • Music!!! Probably, provided we can get a ride, which we are 90% sure we can, my sister and I are going to Bluesfest to see Edwarde Sharp and the Magnetic Zeros, and Tegan & Sara.  Two of my very favourite bands, especially the latter one.  I think I’ll probably curl up and die if I can’t go.  Last year, we saw Metric, the Flaming Lips, and Arcade Fire at Bluesfest… one of the best days of my life, even though during the Flaming Lips I was practically molested by a really drunk guy who fell on top of me and thought he knew me… it would be yuckier if it wasn’t so damn funny.  I was laughing the entire time, I’m pretty sure everyone there thought I was stupid.
  • And more music… downtown (which takes up pretty much all of our 5000 population town) is a free music festival that takes place in a lovely park.  Me and my friends are going to go, and live there for the three or four days that it lasts, wandering around there and around town in our hippie dresses and bare feet, baking in the sun and then swimming in the river, all the while listening to chill music and drinking mango smoothies.  Yeah, it’s as awesome as it sounds. 
  • Clothes.  Now, I have money, so I am going to buy myself a bunch of amazing clothes… hippie dresses and flats and nice jeans and Converse sneakers and sunglasses (cause I’m cool like that) and yeah.  So very uncool of me to be so excited about it, but what can I say?  I’m a naturally overenthusiastic being. 
  • Parties and chilling.  Although I hate being drunk, so it won’t be those kinds of parties.  My wisdom, which can be interpreted and applied to all of life, is that “Getting shit-faced ain’t worth the hangover.  Bro.”  Obviously Deepak better watch his back.  
  • Buying CDs and listening to them and then reviewing them on here.  Right now I don’t have enough money to sustain a new-CD buying habit, but take note of the first thing on my list.  
  • Sleeping over at my friend’s houses… goofing off into the early hours and watching bad movies and then sleeping past noon. 
  • Karate!  And kickboxing!  And sparring and grappling!  Just because I like to think that there is a slight possibility of someone thinking of me as badass.  Even for just a second.
  • Eating good food… wraps and watermelon and berries and mango smoothies and veggie burgers and frozen yogurt… ah, my mouth is watering just thinking about all the deliciousness that summer food encompasses.  
  • Going for long long long (I’m talking like 3 hour long) walks on the cooler days, just wandering wherever I feel like. 
  • And blogging here, of course.  Because even if no one is  , I’m pretty sure that I really like the feeling of knowing that there is a possibility. 

Leave a comment